About Us

Celebrating 100+ years of nursing education

Founded in 1914, the Indiana University School of Nursing has grown into one of the largest nursing schools in the country. It is composed of campuses in Indianapolis (IUPUI), Bloomington, and Fort Wayne. We share a curriculum and a governance structure. Our organizational chart explains the reporting structure. Dean Robin Newhouse is the dean for all three campuses and works with an executive team to provide oversight for all three campuses.

Blue and yellow badgeOur three campuses, together, were honored to be the first school in the nation to be designated by the National League for Nursing (NLN) as a Center of Excellence in Nursing Education in two categories - Advancing the Science of Nursing Education (2021-2026) and Promoting the Pedagogical Expertise of Faculty (2017-2022).

The Fort Wayne campus currently offers a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program with two tracks: traditional and RN to BSN.  Additionally, we are opening a new BSN Accelerated Second Degree this Spring 2021!

Explore our academic programs

The Indiana University School of Nursing at Fort Wayne prepares students to lead!

Dr. Christopher Lance Coleman, associate dean, IU School of Nursing

School of Nursing mission

The Indiana University School of Nursing prepares outstanding nurses to be clinicians, educators, leaders, innovators, and scientists. We partner with students, health care professionals, organizations, and communities to inspire lifelong learning and create knowledge to improve the health of the people we serve.

Learn more about our mission and vision


Recent national events remind us that complacency about the insidious effects of historic and pervasive inequities and structural racism on our society is no longer an option. As one of the leading Schools of Nursing in the nation, we must seek to understand our role in advancing diversity in nursing, and in leading the transformation of the academic and clinical paradigm that provides quality and equitable health care for all of society.


Learn more about our diversity statement

Nursing faculty and staff

We transform students from diverse backgrounds through high quality and innovative programs with accomplished and intellectually engaged professors. Our faculty and staff care about all students’ academic success as well as the impact we have on their lives, careers, the region, and beyond.

Meet the nursing faculty and staff

Associate Dean Welcome Message

Meet Dr. Coleman, associate dean, and learn more about his vision of IU School of Nusing—Fort Wayne. 

Meet Associate Dean Coleman

Lets get social!

IUFW Nursing Facebook